Magic Blouse

An ever fitting sari blouse making idea. General instructions about pattern making and sewing of a blouse that needs no alteration on gaining or losing weight.

Namaste Dear Tantu enthusiast!

We have moved to our own domain. Please read this article in the new URL here: Magic fit blouse. Thank you!

Hey, haveΒ you faced the problems of fitting in the sari blouse every next time you wear it? Me too… Even if I altered it, the blouse remained uncomfortable 😦

Result of this discomfort is, idea of My Magic Blouse!!

How Did I Make My Magic Blouse?

Designing and style selection

First, I decided the style I wanted, i.e., raglan (know more about raglan style and pattern making here).Β  Raglan sleeves set smoothly even after alterations. I planned to elasticate the blouse to avoid alterations.

Requirements:

Then it was selection of fabric (shell), golden- purple fancy brocade with all over floral motifs and with a black net border of ribbon-sequin works (Magic Blouse Pic 1). Matching colour thread, lining material, elastic cord and tying cord were the other requirements.

1 T Magic Blouse Pic 1

Pattern Making

Next, I made paper patterns of raglan bodices and sleeves (Magic Blouse Pic 2). If you are new to pattern making, you may findΒ basic sari blouse pattern here and making a raglan pattern from that here. The bodices were simple, without darts. Provided 10cm extra allowance in the centres for ease (shown in dotted lines in the pic). There I planned to add elastics.

1 T Magic Blouse Pic 2

Cutting

Then, I cut the fabrics, both shell and lining. After arranging the right sides facing, I stitched the necklines, bottom hemlines and sleeve hemlines (Magic Blouse Pic 3). Then, turned the right side out and gave top stitch.

1 T Magic Blouse Pic 3

I marked the elastic placement lines over the bodices at 1”-1 ½” and stitched elastic cord (Magic Blouse Pic 4).

1 T Magic Blouse Pic 4

Next it was assembly work. I assembled the 4pieces, matching respective armholes as pictured (Magic Blouse Pic 5).

1 T Magic Blouse Pic 5

Attached a cord at the back neckline as tying.

Β The Magic Blouse is ready to wear πŸ™‚ Have a glance of Magic Blouse here.

1 T Magic Blouse Pic 6

I had a great time sharing my ideas with you! How about you?

Your words make my day! We have moved to our own domain www.varnatantu.com. Please leave your feedback for this post in this link. Thank you!

About Sindhu

A nature lover, dreamer, artist, fashion designer and blogger. Passionate about arts. Persued B.Sc Fashion Designing at Karavali College, Mangalore with first rank in the Mangalore University (2003-2006). Former lecturer at Gloria College of Fashion Design, Puttur. (2006-2011). Arts and fashion blogger (2013 onwards).
This entry was posted in Designing, Sewing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Magic Blouse

  1. Very quickly this web page will be famous amid all blogging visitors, due to it’s nice posts

  2. praveen kumar says:

    Very interesting madam ….

  3. Sindhudevi says:

    Thank you Praveen!

  4. Mam…. Really nice…

  5. I will try this magic blouse…

  6. Sindhudevi says:

    Thank you for your feedback!

  7. Sindhudevi says:

    Thank you dear πŸ™‚

  8. Christine omollo says:

    Amazing!

  9. sindhoooo says:

    Thank you πŸ™‚

  10. Delina says:

    Nice post.

  11. Conrad Engelmann says:

    Great work! This is the type of info that should be shared around the net. Thanks =)

  12. Arletta Crask says:

    I have read a few good stuff here. Certainly worth bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how much effort you put to make such a excellent informative website.

  13. sindhoooo says:

    Thanks for connecting to Tantu and for the feedback! Visit again!

  14. sindhoooo says:

    Thank you for connecting to Tantu and for the feedback! Do visit again!

  15. Chasity Swart says:

    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having problems locating it but, I’d like to send you an email. I’ve got some recommendations for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great site and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  16. This post is great. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you are not already πŸ˜‰ Cheers!

  17. sindhoooo says:

    Thank you πŸ™‚

  18. sindhoooo says:

    Sorry for late reply. I was awaiting your e-mail. Yes, I have given contact info in ‘About Sindhu’ page. You can create another page for contact info. Thanks for your wishes and yes, I would love to hear suggestions from my readers πŸ™‚

  19. I just want to mention I’m very new to blogging and honestly liked this web blog. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly have fabulous articles and reviews. Thanks for sharing your web-site.

  20. sindhoooo says:

    Thanks for liking Tantu πŸ™‚

  21. Yasmin says:

    Can I just say what a relief to find someone who actually knows what they are talking about on the internet. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More people need to read this. I cant believe you are not more popular because you definitely have the gift.

  22. sindhoooo says:

    Thank you for your time πŸ™‚ I enjoy fashion design and I also enjoy sharing my ideas across blogosphere. Popularity is not in anyone’s hand. It just comes and goes. What remains with me is my dedication and satisfaction towards my work! Anyways, thanks for your concern! Do visit again!

  23. nirmal says:

    simply wow….i was just looking for such a pattern…i had to make a saree blouse without knowing accurate measurements for a friend of mine…i need to gift it to her so couldnt ask her for measurements…was thinking of using elastic for a saree blouse…but dint know how to do it.. a blouse stitched with this pattern will definitely fit her !!! thank you so much!!! cheers πŸ™‚

  24. sindhoooo says:

    Hi Nirmal!

    I am glad that you like this pattern πŸ™‚ I hope you would be happy with the result and your friend would be surprised! Please let me know her reaction πŸ™‚

    Cheers! Happy Weekend!

  25. nirmal says:

    hi, sorry i took a little longer to reply….my friends(not only the one who received it as a gift) were very much surprised to see a blouse like that…i stitched the blouse with a few changes than the one you have mentioned….just wanted to share it with you πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/111008191337788908145/albums/5959811886399564705

  26. jilu says:

    Hi excellent work.can u tell me how to add the elastic part also what kind of elastic v should use

  27. sindhoooo says:

    Wow! It is very beautiful! That emphasising colourful appliqued centre part is fantastic! glad you shared it πŸ™‚ It is obvious to be liked πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Keep visiting! TC!

  28. sindhoooo says:

    Thanks a lot for the valuable compliment Jilu!

    Have you used bobbin elastic? The best you can use is bobbin elastic. A elastic cord that can be wound to bobbin and then stitched with low tension on the top thread. Make sure to face the wrong side down. Will try to post it for you πŸ™‚

    Keep visiting! TC!

  29. acharyasujatha says:

    i liked the blouse very much.what is the measurement taken, and what type of elastic should.

  30. sindhoooo says:

    Thank you so much for your visit Sujatha, hope you had a pleasant stay πŸ™‚

    You may follow the drafting instructions given here:
    https://varnatantu.wordpress.com/2014/01/22/diy-sari-blouse-basic-pattern/

    If you know to use bobbin elastic, that is the best I can suggest. If not about 1cm wide braided elastic is better πŸ™‚

    Hope this information helps you πŸ™‚
    Keep smiling! Keep visiting! TC!

  31. acharyasujatha says:

    THANKS FOR THE EARLY REPLY. THIS INFORMATION WILL REALLY HELP ME.

  32. sindhoooo says:

    Glad you found it helpful! TC!

  33. Jaya says:

    very interesting design. i will try this and let yoou know how it goes. Thank you so much for the tutorial!

  34. sindhoooo says:

    My pleasure! Thanks for your interest πŸ™‚ I would love to know your feedback on this design πŸ™‚ TC! Keep smiling πŸ™‚ Visit again!

  35. I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an edginess over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably coe more formeely again since exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this increase.

  36. sindhoooo says:

    I am sorry for not clearly understanding what you have said. Thanks a lot for stopping by and taking time to drop your valuable words πŸ™‚ TC! Keep smiling πŸ™‚

  37. Preethi says:

    You look so lovely in the sari Sindhu.

  38. sindhoooo says:

    Thank you for your compliments Preethi πŸ™‚ TC! Keep smiling πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.