Crocheted Mobile-phone Pouch

Hello!!

How are you doing? Sorry, I have been a little busy with my new friends in my balcony for all these days! They are growing fast and I am enjoying photographing them! I have also been trying to pull out the artist within after a long time. I succeeded drawing a portrait last week. I hope you will excuse me for this portrait at the least!

Now, something about the project: crocheting a mobile pouch.

Crocheted Mobile-phone Pouch:

I designed this for my amma (mom).

Crocheted Moblie PouchHmm, do you like it? Here is a detail of how I worked it:

My requirements were:

  1. Acrylic crocheting threads of 4ply in dark turquoise, marine blue, sky blue, lemonade and white colours. You can choose any 5 shading or tinting colours.
  2. I used:
  • 2mm crocheting hook (for single thread) and
  • 4mm crocheting hook (for two threads).

3.   Hand sewing needle for attaching leaves to the pouch

How Did I Crochet?

If you are new to crocheting, click on the stitch names for ‘how to links’.

Body:

  • I used the basic crocheting stitches for this pouch.
  • I started with a slip knot.
  • Row 1: 9 chain stitches (this length was equal to the width) + 1chain stitch in marine blue
  • Row 2-6: (total 5 rows) double crochet in marine blue
  • I worked 9 double crochets in a row and 9 more turning back. Pulled the last loop out of the first double crochet. This way I worked both the sides together. Worked one more chain stitch before starting the 3rd row.
  • Row 7-11: (total 5 rows) double crochet in marine blue
  • Row 12-16: (total 4 rows) double crochet in sky blue
  • Row 17-20: (total 4 rows) double crochet in lemonade
  • Row 21-23: (total 3 rows) double crochet in white
  • Row 24: I took white and lemonade together and worked 1row of double crochet skipping one stitch alternatively. At the centre (5th stitch each side), I increased stitches by adding 1halftreble, 1treble, 1double treble, 1treble and 1halftreble.
  • Row 25: double crochet all the stitches in sky blue and marine blue.
  • Row 26: double crochet with marine blue and dark turquoise.

Handle:

  • Row 1: Chain with white and lemonade. Number of stitches to the need.
  • Row 2: Slip stitch with sky blue and marine blue

Leaf motif:

  • I worked with a variation to heart pattern for the leaves. I worked 8 chain stitches. Then I worked 3 treble, 3 double treble, 1 chain (leaf tip), 3 double treble, 3 treble – all into the  4th chain stitch.
  • I made leaves with white, lemonade and sky blue. I stitched them firmly onto the desired areas.

This pouch fits well for a standard sized mobile phone. Are you willing to crochet your own mobile-phone pouches? Give me your mobile size, I am always here to help you for stitch numbers 🙂

My special thanks to for their ‘how to’ posts:

A few links you may like:

Its time for me to stop for now. Share your words with me. Awaiting your replies.

Take care!

Bye until the next week!

About sindhoooo

Hi, I am Sindhu Devi, an Indian Fashion Designer. I am a graduate in Fashion Design from Mangalore University, who bagged the first rank in the year 2006. I have enjoyed teaching Fashion Design for 5years. Currently I am a full time designer and a full time homemaker. I am passionate about designing as well as making of unique outfits and accessories, keen to share my design ideas in the blogosphere.
This entry was posted in accessories, Crocheting, Designing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crocheted Mobile-phone Pouch

  1. Pingback: Lace Embroidery Part 1 | Embroidery Projects

Leave your valuable words here...

