How To Measure Yourself Accurately For Good Fit?

We have moved to our own domain https://www.varnatantu.com. Please read this article in the new URL here: How To Measure Yourself Accurately For Good Fit?. Thank you!

About Sindhu

A nature lover, dreamer, artist, fashion designer and blogger. Passionate about arts. Persued B.Sc Fashion Designing at Karavali College, Mangalore with first rank in the Mangalore University (2003-2006). Former lecturer at Gloria College of Fashion Design, Puttur. (2006-2011). Arts and fashion blogger (2013 onwards).
This entry was posted in Dressmaking Basics and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to How To Measure Yourself Accurately For Good Fit?

  1. Tajana says:

    Can’t thank you enough for this post!I’m still uncapable to take my own measurements but your positive attitude towards sewing helps a lot a begginer like me…. if you’d read my last post you’d know what kind of problems I was facing with my last sewing attempt….

  2. sindhoooo says:

    Pleasure is all mine Tajana 🙂 M so happy that this post is of some help for you! Every great sewer was once a beginner, I bet you that you would be very good at sewing after some hard work 🙂 Mmm, even I want to master in crocheting like you :)))

    Thanks a lot for your encouraging words that give me more confidence to continue this series 🙂 TC! Keep smiling 🙂

  3. lucyannluna says:

    Thanks good advice, I’m not very good at measuring

  4. sindhoooo says:

    Hey, thanks for stopping by Lucy! My pleasure! Glad you found it useful 🙂 I believe, most of us are not gifted, we all learn as we grow… 🙂 TC! Keep smiling 🙂

  5. Dilip says:

    Never knew measurements is such needs so many points to be careful about 🙂
    Good article.

  6. sindhoooo says:

    Thanks for your valuable feedback Dilip 🙂 Glad that you found these matters interesting 🙂 Yes, taking measurement accurately would be very much influencing for even men’s attires, especially for tailored garments like suits… 🙂

    TC! Keep smiling 🙂

  7. Preethi says:

    Thanks Sindhu for this detailed post. Love it when you say not to be ill, sad when taking measurements. Really thoughtful. Now that I feel a bit more comfortable sewing for my daughter, I might take the next step to try to sew for myself. This post is very helpful to take the next step for me. Thanks.

  8. Anita says:

    Good tips here, Sindhu.
    You have rightly mentioned all the points. Haven’t done Self-measurement many times. A good tailor knows the correct fittings 🙂

  9. sindhoooo says:

    Thanks so much for your visit and for your valuable feedback Anita 🙂 Yes, but, good tailors/dressmakers are very rare! TC! Keep smiling 🙂

  10. Jaya says:

    on the rare occasions i actually need to draft a pattern, I always get someone else to measure me. it is easier, with less awkward bending to hold the tape in place or find an accurate curve.
    for everything else, i trace a well fitting garment 😀

  11. sindhoooo says:

    Thanks for sharing your experiences Jaya 🙂 Yes, self measuring can be difficult at times… some tips can help to solve them 🙂 Ah! I have been tracing garments during my first sewing years (before studying fashion design), some 12 year ago!

    Thanks for your kind visit 🙂 TC! Keep smiling 🙂

  12. Your words are wise. Thank you for posting this.

  13. sindhoooo says:

    Feels great to get a positive feedback from a sewer friend that my post is of some use 🙂 Thank you Preethi, I bet that you can sew for yourself without any trouble 🙂 TC! Keep smiling 🙂

  14. sindhoooo says:

    Thank you for stopping by 🙂 Thank you for encouragement 🙂 It means a lot! TC! Keep smiling 🙂

  15. preethi says:

    good tips which are helpful really, keep going. continue posting mam……

  16. sindhoooo says:

    Hi Preethi Madam,

    Thank you so much for your valuable words! They mean a lot…
    Lots of readers’ requests are yet to be covered… Hope your request will be online soon!
    TC! Keep smiling 🙂

Comments are closed.